Sleep!

Attention Scientists Of The World!

Stop looking for Quarks and Leptons.  Stop trying to realize the intricacies of the Unified String Theory.  I have a truly baffling phenomenon for you to tackle: The sleeping habits of children…

Sounds easy?  You don’t have kids of your own, do you?

Why is it that my 2 year-old who fell asleep on the five-minute drive home from the playground cannot be roused enough to get out of the car under her own power?  This is the same child who after sleeping on the couch for an hour or so wakes up the second she’s put down in her crib.  Don’t even get me started on light sleepers vs. heavy sleepers.  If I so much as creak a floorboard on my way to bed she’s up and crying, but no amount of screaming and yelling will wake her up in her car seat.

Let’s not forget about the ‘big’ kids.  Why oh why are they so hard to rouse at 8:00AM on school days yet are up at 6:00AM on Saturday?  Christmas Day, sure…snow day, fine…but we’re talking a regular run of the mill weekend with nothing planned.  Today we had a two-hour delay for downed trees and they were up at 7:00, why?

It has nothing to do with how tired they are or when they went to bed.  There’s no rhyme or reason.  I think they do it just to screw with us.

Please write up a grant proposal and get on this right away.  It will win you the Nobel Prize, I promise.

About kiscodad

I am a happily married Father of three living in Northern Westchester County New York.
This entry was posted in Humor, Kids, rant, school and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sleep!

  1. Julie says:

    No clue, but I will work on it and get back to you. I want that Nobel Prize.

  2. Irene says:

    Beats the shit out of me. Kids will be kids. If they don’t want to sleep in the crib, let ’em sleep on the couch. Just make sure there’s a dry diaper on them.

    And I used to let mine sleep in the car seat. Just check on them now and then. It never hurt them.

  3. Dougyver says:

    Something about the motion and vibration of the car…

  4. raychel says:

    I remember hours of driving aimlessly around to soothe my girls, also not to be forgotten, the walk and bounce, miles and miles of walking and bouncing. I always made sure to play music and make noise when they were newborns so that I never had to be one of those people who were SHHHH baby’s sleeping! Now my kids can sleep through tornadoes.
    Though of course they’re teenagers, so like the windex commercial bird says “teenagers up at the crack of noon”

Leave a Reply

