Are You Talkin’ To Me?

A little while ago I talked about the phenomenon of kids’ strange sleeping habits.  Another thing that science needs to get on right away is what I like to call Selective Hearing.  I’m not talking about kids who just tune you out or flat-out ignore you, that’s perfectly normal and as much as I don’t like it I know I’ll have to deal with it forever.  I’m talking about something that seems to defy logic.

My kids are in their room destroying things because well that’s what they do…I can hear them from the living room which is not all that far away.  I need their help for something so I’ll call one of them…’Nicolas’ nothing ‘Nicolas!’ nada ‘NICOLAS!’ now this might get a ‘WHAT?!’ but still no one is coming.  I’ll either give up or just go and get them, fine.

Later one of the cats will inevitably leave a steaming pile of something on the rug and I’ll yell…yeah I yell a lot.  At this, one or more children will come running, ‘yeah Dad?’  Why is it that they only seem to hear me when I’m not talking to them?  It also happens when I’m in the room with two or more of them.  Ask one a question and the other one says, ‘me?’  The one you’re actually talking TO will never answer.  They don’t even seem to be able to take things in context:

‘Stop picking your nose’

‘who me?’

‘are YOU picking your nose?’

‘no’

‘well then why would I be talking to you?’

‘I dunno’

Really?  It must be some kind of kid code that they won’t tell us about.

About kiscodad

I am a happily married Father of three living in Northern Westchester County New York.
This entry was posted in Humor, Kids, Stay at home Dad and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Are You Talkin’ To Me?

  1. Sourkraut says:

    Hmm, sounds an awful lot like my husband. Is that proof that men are just overgrown kids?

  2. ryoko861 says:

    And it doesn’t get any better. Hunker down, you’re in for a looooong ride.

  3. Ahh ok so there is more with the selective hearing bug. I sometimes have to get into angry yell mode after the 5th time of no response, coupled in with worrying that he says absolutely nothing… that lil boy gets us all the time!
    Don’t know about us being overgrown kids… more like kids not responding to their parents if you ask me.

Leave a Reply

