Like A Rock

Electrolux Model G vacuum cleaner

No, not a Chevy pickup…my early 60s Electrolux Model G vacuum cleaner!  We inherited this from my Grandmother a few years ago and it has outlasted just about any other household cleaning device or appliance we’ve purchased since.  The thing is made of steel and damn near indestructible.  It’s like a little gray army tank.  I’ve dropped it down stairs and rolled it down my steep driveway, but nothing fazes it.

I seem to recall getting a new hose for it at some point and when we brought it in to the shop they agreed that unlike today’s vacuums, this one will last forever.  If you’re in the market for a new vacuum then pass up the new hi-tech vacuums that sell for between $500 and $1000 and see if you can find one of these puppies on Craigslist or Ebay.  I’ve seen them really cheap, but make sure you grab it quick before  collector snatches it up.  Yes, there are people who collect vacuum cleaners…don’t judge.

Electrolux Model G vacuum cleanerElectrolux Model G vacuum cleanerElectrolux Model G vacuum cleaner

About J

I am a happily married Father of three living in Westchester County New York.
This entry was posted in bargains, Helpful Advice, History, Humor, memories, saving money, Stay at home Dad and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Like A Rock

  1. Alisha-Marie says:

    My mom had one of those Electrlux babies while I was growing up. It was inherited from my grandmother. I was visiting my sister over the holidays, and I was surprised to see her using it. That thing must be at least 30 years old, and it’s still running!

Leave a comment